DIY Distressed Denim

Hello Beauties and Happy Friday! We have a little over a week left before my FAVORITE holiday which is EASTER aka Resurrection Sunday! I can’t wait to celebrate my favorite Person ever with some of my favorite people :).

So I have a confession to make… I jumped on the ripped jean/distressed denim train way late. I grew up in a household where my parent’s thought it was CRAZY to pay money for ripped clothes so I always carried that mindset with me, haha! Listen, Haitians don’t play that! But lately, I’ve really been into it! I love how you can dress them down, or up. The only thing that has still carried over, however, is the idea of paying MORE for LESS material! I bought a couple pairs from Burlington on clearance and after wearing them for a couple weeks, I LOVED them! I wanted more but you know your girl is on a BUDGET, honey! So I decided to find a tutorial online and do it myself! 

This tutorial from Kathleen at Carrie Bradshaw Lied (CBL) was so simple and so easy! Seriously, if I can do this, ANYONE can.

Her suggestion was to buy a cheap pair of jeans or go to your local thrift shop to get one. I used an old pair of jeans from Forever 21.  I bought these YEARS ago for $7.90. Since I’ve have them for so long, they were super worn so I skipped the sandpaper step. I used a pair of scissors and that was it! Once I go the desired look from cutting and pulling on the strands, I washed them and it made the fibers even more frayed. I LOVE the way they turned out! After seeing it in pictures, they can definitely use a little more distress, but that’s the beauty of DIY — personal customization. Now I’m not going to lie. I got a newfound freedom from being able to do what I wanted with my jeans so I went a little scissor crazy this week. (I had a lot of old jeans!) I made 2 pairs of shorts and cut the bottoms to a pair of jeans that were always too long for me for the cool frayed look that’s super in right now. I can’t wait to show you those pieces later on in the Summer!

Anyways, here are some cell phone pics from my first DIY project!

Let me know if you try it as well!!

IMG_1526

Leave a Reply

