New Things

Oh happy day! Tuesday’s and Thursday’s are my favorite days of the week! I like Tuesday because it’s not as difficult as Monday but is still early enough in the week that you feel like you can start something and I like Thursdays because you’re anticipating the weekend without the pressure of plans. (Definitely sounds like an introvert thing, haha!) All this to day: Happy Tuesday!

This past weekend, my family and I went to Palm Beach. One of my husband’s friends invited us to a class on African history at his father’s church. I was able to stay and listen for about 40 mins before my boys got restless and I had to go, haha! I’m grateful I got to go, even if only for a short time. I love learning new information and refreshing old ones. Afterwards we went to Kabuki and I was able to try sushi for the first time. (Don’t. judge. me. I’m not a big seafood person!) I had been wanting to try it for a while, but never got an opportunity. I finally tried it and liked it! I tried a few different ones and for me, the part I had to get used to was not the fish, but the rice! As a rice connisieur (ha!), I spend a lot of time making sure my rice is not sticky so the texture of the rice was the hardest part for me. But I grew accustomed to it quickly and really enjoyed it. My son had spicy edamame and really liked that too so I’m definitely going to try a way to incorporate that into our diet at home.

Last week on my Instastories, I showed this dress that my Mom (in law) had given me. I was hesitant to to try it because it’s vastly different than what I usually wear. I like to stick to neutral solids so a printed green dress was way outside my scope. I’ve really been trying to step out of my comfort zone, so I thought “Why not?”. Once I put it on, I absolutely fell in love. It’s so light and so fun. I’ve already worn it twice in a week as a dress and a skirt (like the pictures) and please expect me to find at least 3 others ways to wear it before the summer is done…I’m so serious too! Each time I wore this dress, I got compliments from complete strangers and although I was not seeking validation from anyone else, I loved that other people saw the beauty in the dress as well.
This Tuesday, I want to encourage you to step out of your comfort zone and try something new.  Whether you try a new class or eat a new food or wear something you wouldn’t ordinarily wear, try to branch out and expand your horizon. You never know what new things you’ll discover. Have a great week, guys!

img_1526

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Leave a Reply

