Lessons from Irma…

Irma, girl. You came in and blew us away — literally. If you haven’t heard, last week a category 5 hurricane named Irma wrought havoc and destruction in the Caribbean before making landfall in the Florid keys and working it’s way up the west coast of Florida.

Having seen the destruction of Harvey the week before and what Irma was capable of in the Caribbean, I had planned for extensive damage, but God had planned differently for us. I am SO grateful that the worst we got could be easily repaired. While some people have lost it all, I am extremely thankful that I still have my home and most importantly, my family.

Irma has taught me some valuable life lessons and I wanted to share them with you guys!

  1. Know What’s Important: For me, it’s so easy to get caught up in the day to day life. It’s so easy to place your value in stuff and in getting and attaining stuff. But that’s not what’s important. After Jesus, my family is the most important unit to me and I was reminded of that in preparing for this storm. My chief concern was my boys’ safety and quality of life. God gifted me with these two treasures and I would give my all to protect them and do right by them through God’s grace. I also value the friendships I have surrounding me and I tried to ensure that everyone I loved was safe and prepared for the storm.
  2. Stay Ready!: I live in South Florida. At LEAST once a year, we have a Cat. 3 or higher hurricane barreling towards us. You would think that experiencing this, once a year, I would stay prepared with water and non perishables during hurricane season. I. Do. Not. Again, through God’s grace, I started prepping for this storm early so I got water and food before the stores ran out. But now, I will always have things on deck, ready!!!
  3. God is ALWAYS here: There’s nothing like hearing people on the news and on social media speak of your impending death by hurricane over. And over. And over again. I definitely don’t blame the meteorologists because they’re just doing their due diligence and warning us. But there is SUCH a peace in knowing and trusting God and His Word. Psalm 46 and 91 were everything I needed to hear in staying here.

So Irma, as much as I didn’t want to meet you, (and thankfully I didn’t! I just encountered some of your cousins, the tornados), you have reminded me of some valuable lessons: my family and friends are everything, stay ready so you don’t have to get ready, and God has always got my back. Thank you, girl! Appreciate it but you’re not invited back. I hope you guys continue to lift up those who have been greatly affected by these storms and other natural disasters domestically and internationally. I also pray that we become the hands and feet of Christ and help in any way we can!! Have a happy Friday, ya’ll!!

Leave a comment